Posted on Leave a comment

Wendy Pollard – Finalist of the People’s Book Prize

Thanks to everyone who voted for Wendy Pollard. She didn’t win but was a worthy finalist. Details of the winners can be found here. We are delighted that Wendy Pollard has been voted as a finalist of the People’s Book Prize. Congratulations to her! Her book is the biography Pamela Hansford Johnson: Her Life, Work and Times. The results of the People’s Book Prize…

Read more

Posted on

Huntington’s Disease Awareness Week

Huntington’s Disease is a degenerative hereditary disease which causes mental decline and physical symptoms such as jerkiness and uncoordinated movement. There is currently no cure for the disease and children of those who are affected have a 50% chance of inheriting it. 11-17 May is Huntington’s Disease Awareness week and the Huntington’s Disease Association are fundraising and raising awareness for the disease. Author John…

Read more

Posted on

Winston Churchill – the ‘Saviour of the Nation’ remembered

Saviour of the Nation - cover

The nation remembers the 70th anniversary of VE day on 8 May. Shepheard-Walwyn have published an exciting new book which relates closely to this event. Saviour of the Nation: An epic poem of Winston Churchill’s finest hour is an engaging poem which depicts Churchill as an Epic hero in the tradition of Virgil and Homer. The author, Brian Hodgkinson spoke live to Ali Jones…

Read more

Posted on Leave a comment

In Memory of John Stewart and Dorothy Boux

Boux and Stewart

We are sorry to announce that two of our long-standing authors have died within weeks of each other. Our thoughts are with their family and friends. Many who have visited us at craft shows over the years will remember Dorothy Boux sitting at a board and writing out inspiring or humorous passages in beautiful calligraphy with a steady hand and without glasses well into…

Read more

Posted on Leave a comment

Craft in Focus – Visit our Bookstall

SW stall

Once again, this year we will have a bookstall at the Craft in Focus fairs. Come and visit us and enjoy a day out. On display at the Shepheard-Walwyn stall will be a full range of gift and keepsake books. Don’t miss the opportunity to see our calligrapher, Rosemary Grossman in action. Her calligraphy prints will also be on sale. The first event is at…

Read more

Posted on

International Women’s Day – Celebrating Worthy Women

Woman: A Unique Tribute

8th March is International Women’s Day. This globally celebrated day, which is a public holiday in some countries, gives us an opportunity to celebrate women past, present and future. ‘Make It Happen’ is the theme for this year’s event, encouraging effective action  for advancing and recognising women. Shepheard-Walwyn has published a number of biographies which chronicle outstanding women and their active contributions to their…

Read more

Posted on Leave a comment

Mary O’Hara Documentary on TG4

Mary O'Hara - cover

This documentary was repeated on 4 March and can be viewed here. On December 28 2014 the Irish TV Channel TG4 showed a documentary – Mary O’Hara – a Saol (Her Life). If you enjoy the documentary, you can read more about Mary O’Hara in her autobiography. For a limited period Travels with my Harp: The Complete Autobiography by Mary O’Hara will be selling…

Read more

Posted on Leave a comment

Pamela Hansford Johnson – The People’s Book Prize

Pamela hansford Johnson

We are delighted that this book was chosen as a finalist. More information about the final voting stage will follow. Pamela Hansford Johnson: Her Life, Works and Times has been nominated for the People’s Book Prize. Voting is now open for the Winter 2014/15 collection for non-fiction, in which is is included. You can register and vote for this book here. This is the…

Read more

Posted on Leave a comment

The Legacy of Winston Churchill – 50 Years On

The Greatest Briton - cover image

This week we commemorate 50 years since Winston Churchill’s death. Below, Jeremy Havardi, author of The Greatest Briton: Essays on Winston Churchill’s Life and Political Philosophy outlines the qualities of the man who led Britain to victory in the Second World War.  “50 years after his death, how should one assess the legacy of Winston Churchill? Quite simply, he was the greatest and most…

Read more

Posted on Leave a comment

The Chinese Economy is now the World’s Largest – How did they do it?

The Art of Industrial Warfare

At the end of 2014 the International Monetary Fund reported that China had overtaken America as the world’s largest Economy. “China now accounts for 16.5% of the global economy when measured in real purchasing-power terms, compared with 16.3% for the U.S.” (Market Watch). One of our authors predicted this and explained in detail the tactics used within Chinese Business in The Art of Industrial…

Read more