Posted on

Celebrating 400 Years of Shakespeare’s Gifts

To ask a group of Shakespeare lovers what it is that they love most in Shakespeare would be to raise a great hymn of praise and delight. Imagine then the crescendo we can expect on 23rd April 2016, when, as it seems, the whole world intends to mark his quatercentenary 400 years on. A great global party no less, uniting countless festivals, tributes, special…

Read more

Posted on

Winston Churchill – the ‘Saviour of the Nation’ remembered

Saviour of the Nation - cover

The nation remembers the 70th anniversary of VE day on 8 May. Shepheard-Walwyn have published an exciting new book which relates closely to this event. Saviour of the Nation: An epic poem of Winston Churchill’s finest hour is an engaging poem which depicts Churchill as an Epic hero in the tradition of Virgil and Homer. The author, Brian Hodgkinson spoke live to Ali Jones…

Read more

Posted on

The Legacy of Winston Churchill – 50 Years On

The Greatest Briton - cover image

This week we commemorate 50 years since Winston Churchill’s death. Below, Jeremy Havardi, author of The Greatest Briton: Essays on Winston Churchill’s Life and Political Philosophy outlines the qualities of the man who led Britain to victory in the Second World War.  “50 years after his death, how should one assess the legacy of Winston Churchill? Quite simply, he was the greatest and most…

Read more