Posted on

Burns Night – A master of song celebrated

25th January is Burns Night, the day in which the National Bard of Scotland, Robert Burns, is celebrated with supper, conviviality and poetry. It seemed appropriate at this time to focus this blog post on one of our classic titles,  Twenty Most Favourite Songs of Burns beautifully scribed and illustrated by Andrew Winton. This volume takes the songs of Burns and presents them alongside the music,…

Read more

Posted on

Celebrating 400 Years of Shakespeare’s Gifts

To ask a group of Shakespeare lovers what it is that they love most in Shakespeare would be to raise a great hymn of praise and delight. Imagine then the crescendo we can expect on 23rd April 2016, when, as it seems, the whole world intends to mark his quatercentenary 400 years on. A great global party no less, uniting countless festivals, tributes, special…

Read more

Posted on

Contemplating the Nature of Love

On the Nature of Love

The story-line of this new book is very simple. November 7 was presumed to be Plato’s birthday, and on that evening in 1468 nine men met at Careggi outside Florence in his honour. After supper the Symposium was read aloud, and each of the guests then spoke on the nature of love. Marsilio Ficino, who was also present, recorded what was said, although he…

Read more

Posted on

Hong Kong’s Economic Miracle Explained by Andrew Purves at ALTER Conference

Andrew Purves

Andrew Purves will be speaking at the ALTER Conference and AGM on 21st November in Oxford. ALTER is Action for Land Taxation and Economic Reform and is the Liberal Democrat campaign for Land Value Taxation – tax land not work. Andrew is the author of recent Ethical Economics book No Debt, High Growth, Low Tax and will be talking to ALTER members about the topics covered in his…

Read more

Posted on

Ethical Economics Blog: The housing crisis and land development

Andrew Purves

In his recent article “How to Fix the Housing Crisis” in Prospect Magazine, Andrew Adonis argues that the public sector must use its underdeveloped land to provide new housing which is badly needed. This is a topic which caught the attention of our  latest author, Andrew Purves. To read Purves’ full response in the comments section visit Prospect Magazine online. On our Ethical Economics blog…

Read more

Posted on

Ethical Economics Blog: Is economic rent sufficient to fund a modern state?

No Debt, High growth, Low Tax

Below is an extract from a recent blog post on our Ethical Economics website. To read the full post visit the blog here. “Having been convinced of the efficiency and justice inherent in Henry George’s proposal for a Land Value Tax (LVT) to capture the economic rent, the author of No Debt High Growth Low Tax sought to find an example of where it…

Read more

Posted on

Huntington’s Disease Awareness Week

Huntington’s Disease is a degenerative hereditary disease which causes mental decline and physical symptoms such as jerkiness and uncoordinated movement. There is currently no cure for the disease and children of those who are affected have a 50% chance of inheriting it. 11-17 May is Huntington’s Disease Awareness week and the Huntington’s Disease Association are fundraising and raising awareness for the disease. Author John…

Read more

Posted on

Winston Churchill – the ‘Saviour of the Nation’ remembered

Saviour of the Nation - cover

The nation remembers the 70th anniversary of VE day on 8 May. Shepheard-Walwyn have published an exciting new book which relates closely to this event. Saviour of the Nation: An epic poem of Winston Churchill’s finest hour is an engaging poem which depicts Churchill as an Epic hero in the tradition of Virgil and Homer. The author, Brian Hodgkinson spoke live to Ali Jones…

Read more

Posted on

International Women’s Day – Celebrating Worthy Women

Woman: A Unique Tribute

8th March is International Women’s Day. This globally celebrated day, which is a public holiday in some countries, gives us an opportunity to celebrate women past, present and future. ‘Make It Happen’ is the theme for this year’s event, encouraging effective action  for advancing and recognising women. Shepheard-Walwyn has published a number of biographies which chronicle outstanding women and their active contributions to their…

Read more

Posted on

Mary O’Hara Documentary on TG4

Mary O'Hara - cover

This documentary was repeated on 4 March and can be viewed here. On December 28 2014 the Irish TV Channel TG4 showed a documentary – Mary O’Hara – a Saol (Her Life). If you enjoy the documentary, you can read more about Mary O’Hara in her autobiography. For a limited period Travels with my Harp: The Complete Autobiography by Mary O’Hara will be selling…

Read more